Panama Wedding, Great Good Fine Ok, Scavenger Hunt- 30 November 2015

Concert Series

The Lucky Velvet was able to pop out for one more show before the impending doom of finals week, and let me tell you I was definitely glad to be able to catch this one. I found myself once again back at The Great Scott, my favorite little pub/concert venue, for a sold out show on a Monday night right after Thanksgiving. This show was the very first stop on the tour, and this tour is Panama Wedding’s first ever headliner.

Scavenger Hunt was the first act of the night. I had never listened to any of their stuff before, but they are definitely a band I want to check out in the future. The lead singer’s voice is beautiful and she has so much charisma when she’s on stage. The whole band really played into the crowd and fed off of their energy, which was pretty high considering that usually the crowd has little to no idea who the opener is. They put on a fantastic set and I was pleasantly surprised. Their sound has a nice 80’s pop vibes going on, and I think that works really well with the other acts on this tour. This group had fantastic stage presence which was another thing I think really took their set to the next level.

Great Good Fine Ok was next up and I can honestly say this was one of the most fun sets from a band I have experienced in quite a while. John has the most amazing falsetto and that fact that he does that for such a long period of time and every day amazes me. That is some serious talent. They also have some seriously great dance moves which just adds to the amount of character emitting out of them and onto the crowd. Everyone in the building was amped and it was because they were just having so much fun. They use really cool light up things as part of their show that I won’t get into for the sake of ~mystery~ but again it was just like one thing after another made it that much more awesome. Not to mention, the glittery jackets and kimono. Great set. Would love to see these guys in action again.

And then the main event, Panama Wedding. I think they built their set list perfectly, with some of their more chill songs leading the way into the second half of the set. Once they played that first pumped up song, they did not slow down- and neither did the audience. There were tons of people that were just going all out for this set. I mean, jumping and dancing around in circles. This sounds weird but it was kind of amazing to see that these people were literally having the time of their lives during this set, and that made me happy. Other things about this set that made me happy: When Peter Kirk jumped on the drums sitting right next to him. I love when the lead singers play the drums. It just adds something. Great Good Fine Ok came back up to do “Easy Lover” (no one was surprised) and oh my god it was just amazing. Like I want to watch that song live over and over again now. First of all, it’s an amazing song and these two acts are super talented and then you put that into a live show? So much yes. And then to top it off, they finished with “All Of The People” accompanied by special guest Alex Caplow of Magic Man, who I had seen lurking around all night so again, no one was surprised. Still cool though. Overall, the tracks sounded great live, especially the new ones.

Great show, great times, great acts, just Great (Good Fine Ok.) Don’t hate me for that. This tour is a relatively short one, but try to get out there and see it if you can! Also stay tuned, because I was lucky enough to sit down with Peter Kirk of Panama Wedding and ask him a few questions, as well as get a few in there with Great Good Fine Ok. These posts should be coming your way soon!


Has anyone else caught this show, or is anyone going to in the future? Let me know with a comment below!

I also love when people send me stuff to check out, so if you find yourself thinking “Man, this song should grace the pages of The Lucky Velvet”, let me know people!

You know what else is awesome? Taking the music of The Lucky Velvet with you everywhere you go! And you can now do that with this Spotify playlist.

If you like my music blog and you like stickers, you can get a sticker with my music blog on it. Cool, right?

Leave a comment