Years & Years – 30 March 2015

Concert Series

After a long 5 months, I have finally gone to a live show and I can finally start the Concert Series back up. Ironically, the last concert talked about on the pages of this site was Sam Smith back in November. This concert was the first time I ever heard/saw/marveled at the musical wonder that is Years & Years. It was their fantastic live show that got me hooked and got me to go home and listen to them. *Full circle* This is also why it is so important to go to the shows early to see the opener, because you just never know what you’ll end up seeing.

Speaking of the opener, if anyone out there knows the name of the guy that opened for Years & Years at the Boston show, PLEASE let me know! I tried so hard but I just could not catch him name. Either way, he was a DJ. I know some of you may be thinking “um, what” and I was too, but his set actually fit in perfectly with the vibe that Years & Years has. The tunes he was putting out had a more ambient-electro feel than like house or anything (clearly I know so much about DJing.) I thought this guy was really talented because he mixed together some reeeeally cool stuff (like the opening song in The Lion King with Niggas in Paris?!) As far as DJs go, he was a good one.

Now, for the main event. Now, like I said, I’ve see these guys before so I knew a little bit about what to expect. However, that did not make them any less awesome. Their set was a pretty even mix of old material and new material from their forthcoming album (pre-order here) and let me tell you, there may not be another album out there that I am as excited for as “Communion”. Based off the few songs I heard last night, Years & Years has some very special new stuff coming for everyone to look forward to. I got a sort of 80s pop/rock infused kind of vibe that I am very excited for.

As for the actual performance aspect, wow. I mean, wow. Olly Alexander’s voice is just from another world. He can belt with the best of them, and those runs! The other thing I will never stop loving about Olly is that he has the best dance moves. Hey Olly, can you tell us where you got those moves so we can all go get them for ourselves? He’s started doing this kind of squat thing that literally gets him parallel to the ground and it’s just great. The greatest thing about this band is that they are SO excited to just be there. This is their first US tour, and it just radiates off of them how grateful they feel to be up there doing their thing. You don’t see that very often in artists anymore, so that was really refreshing.

The only criticism I have of the show: How could you not play “Breathe”?! Just a personal preference.


Thoughts? Let me know with a comment below!

I also love when people send me stuff to check out, so if you find yourself thinking “Man, this song should grace the pages of The Lucky Velvet”, let me know people!

You know what else is awesome? Taking the music of The Lucky Velvet with you everywhere you go! And you can now do that with this Spotify playlist.

If you like my music blog and you like stickers, you can get a sticker with my music blog on it. Cool, right?

Leave a comment